Austin Highlights

For Easter weekend, I headed to Austin, TX with a bunch of friends. I have constantly heard that Austin is “such an awesome place, you’d love it” and “Austin is so hip – right up your alley!” So of course I’ve been dying to go. Ever since I got a vibe from Austin and people have been there, I had this weird connection to it. I knew I wanted to live there at some point, before even visiting. Being the planner I am, I organized the whole trip for the group of friends and we had a blast and honestly, I can’t wait to go back. Anyways, here are some snapshots and faves from the trip. You can bet your bottom dollar I’ll be back – I’ve already started looking for jobs :0!

24 DinerBrisket & Gruyere Hash KZOEB-hash   Watching the bats leave South Congress Bridge to feed – Want some more explanation? Click here. This was no doubt one of the coolest natural phenomenons I’ve seen. The bats leave their spot under the bridge to go feed at dusk. There are hundreds of tourists and locals alike watching the event, which can happen any time from 6-9PM on warm spring and summer nights. The bats form three even streams and fly down the river, catching insects as they go. KZOEB-bats Easter Brunch at ApothecaryCheese Plate Big thanks to my friend, Niraj, whom I interviewed in Issue 11 Sweet Lemon Mag Issue (read it here). He hooked it up! We had an awesome meal and it was one of my favorite parts about Austin. Apothecary is a bit north of the center of the city, but worth the trip. Prices are on point and, the food presentation is awesome and food is delicious! KZOEB-cheeseFreedmen’s BBQ – Brisket and Rib Plate Wow, I ate a lot of brisket on this trip. I found Freedmen’s on Yelp and headed over there with our big group. They were nice enough to accomodate all of us; however, we were upstairs which wasn’t quite as lively. From what I did see, they had an awesome beer garden outside with picnic tables and a really cool downstairs. Very modern BBQ feel – it was cool. The food was obviously delicious – the ribs literally fell off the bone. Downside: it was a bit expensive ($40 for a BBQ dinner + beer + apps + tip). KZOEB-bbq   Overall, I’d give Austin an A. We had an awesome time, filled with good food, good people and good times. Can’t wait to get back! KZOEB-hq   – Zoë Featured image taken at Freedmen’s BBQ in Austin, TX.

Leave a Reply

